A Dance in the clouds

A Dance in the clouds

Trying to take photographs of the bald eagle during flight is challenging enough, but imagine trying to capture a shot at an altitude of 10,000 feet at speeds of about 30 to 35 mph (which this bird is capable of achieving). Unfortunately for my Rebel T-5 and my 75-300mm lens, that is a little difficult for the types of shots I would really like to capture of this fascinating bird. So, when I am kayaking and see these magnificent birds a few yards away from the shore lines or circling above my head, I try to capture as many shots as I possibly can. I just sit there in my kayak and snap away trying to capture every detail of the moment, because these birds tend not to linger too long especially when and where I see them on a recurring basis. Over the years living and kayaking around the Chesapeake Bay and the James River waterways, I have been fortunate enough to practice my photography using these birds on a regular basis.

In this particular photograph I see a strong and powerful creature that glides across the sky with grace and has a domineering presence. This could be why these birds have been a national emblem of the United States since 1782, although perhaps Benjamin Franklin would disagree with this statement. Nonetheless, the Eagle is a beautiful bird to watch and to use as a wonderful subject to continue practicing my photography.

One of my favorite artists is Pablo Picasso. I know, cliché, right? However, to coincide with Pablo Picasso’s birthday on 25 October, I thought I would share a few points attributed to him – quotes that often run through my mind when I am photographing sunsets. A favorite is “The purpose of art is washing the dust of daily life off our souls.” Nothing would be farther from the truth when it comes to sunsets, because the day’s end offers an opportunity to reflect on lessons learned from the day.

Another perennial favorite: “I am always doing that which I cannot do, in order that I may learn how to do it.” So true! I try to capture the essence of the moment, especially when the sun is reflecting and bouncing over the wrinkles of water, unleashing the stillness that seems to follow a sunset. “Colors, like features, follow the changes of the emotions.” Picasso could not have said it any better. The colors and the elaborate ballet of light reflecting on the water remind me of the grace and precision of dancers on stage. I try to capture that one single moment, the pivotal point in that magnificent dance of time.

 

 See you in the next post!

Author: The Ordinary Compass

Hello and welcome to this collection of anecdotes from my years of ordinary moments and timeless memories. I try to share a positive message, as well as lessons learned which have helped me appreciate life. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple (positive) gesture. I write in the hope that I can make a difference and you as the reader will also see the possibilities that surround you, and as well that the little things do make a big difference. I’m originally from New Jersey, have traveled and lived on both the east and west coasts, and have happily been a Virginia resident for more than ten years. I have been married for over ten years; my wife is my anchor and has kept my compass correct. I have always been an individual who likes the outdoors. I like taking my time to think about the outcomes of situations. I enjoy philosophy and love science. I am no stranger to high adrenaline activities and love everything that revolves around water. Thank you for stopping by and feel free to comment, re-blog (with credit), or just read along! –Robert Konz. The Ordinary Compass: Original photographs and writings are the copyright and property of Robert Konz, and may not be used without permission.

Leave a Reply

