Kayaking Adventures: Marvels of Nature

Kayaking Adventures: Marvels of Nature

Kayaking Adventures:  Marvels of Nature

Over the years living and kayaking around the Chesapeake Bay and the James River waterways, I have been fortunate enough to practice my photography using eagles, the great blue heron, egrets, and many other wonderful creatures as my photography subjects on a regular basis. This particular bald eagle was one of four eagles that I came across yesterday November 3, 2015 during my kayaking venture.

These particular eagles seem to have migrated to the Gordon Creek off of the James River for the fall. I have been watching them slowly work their way up and down the James River for the past few months.  It seems this particular cluster of eagles have inhabited nicely along the Gordon Creek for the present. The food is plentiful and the eagles should be innocuous, but might relocate when hunting season starts in the next couple months.  Until then, they will be an inspiring sight to watch as they put on an aerial ballet of awe-inspiring moments for photographers and nature watchers alike.

This is me kayaking yesterday on the waterways taking photographs. I purposely played around with the contrast and saturation for fun. My wife likes this picture of me; apparently I rarely smile.  A short synapsis: Since my kayak is more than 7 years old, 9ft in length, and weighs just over 54pounds, in combination with my own body weight and gear, I am paddling around 285pounds of weight roughly 3-15 miles every trip.  And, in the winter months 300+pounds (with the addition of cold weather gear) is the norm. Within the past two years I have logged over 600 miles of paddle time.

To give someone an idea from a navigational perspective just how far that is; the starting point would be kayaking from the tip of Gordons Creek, just off of the James River from Virginia to The Manasquan Inlet in New Jersey and still have a few miles to spare.  The following quotes are a few of my favorite quotes.  Enjoy!

  1. Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.

Albert Einstein

  1. Everything you can imagine is real.

Pablo Picasso

  1. Nobody is bored when he is trying to make something that is beautiful, or to discover something that is true.

William Ralph Inge

  1. Great ideas originate in the muscles.

Thomas A. Edison

  1. What is now proved was once only imagined.

William Blake

See you in the next post!

Author: The Ordinary Compass

Hello and welcome to this collection of anecdotes from my years of ordinary moments and timeless memories. I try to share a positive message, as well as lessons learned which have helped me appreciate life. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple (positive) gesture. I write in the hope that I can make a difference and you as the reader will also see the possibilities that surround you, and as well that the little things do make a big difference. I’m originally from New Jersey, have traveled and lived on both the east and west coasts, and have happily been a Virginia resident for more than ten years. I have been married for over ten years; my wife is my anchor and has kept my compass correct. I have always been an individual who likes the outdoors. I like taking my time to think about the outcomes of situations. I enjoy philosophy and love science. I am no stranger to high adrenaline activities and love everything that revolves around water. Thank you for stopping by and feel free to comment, re-blog (with credit), or just read along! –Robert Konz. The Ordinary Compass: Original photographs and writings are the copyright and property of Robert Konz, and may not be used without permission.

Leave a Reply

