Tech Tips: Camera Options

Tech Tips: Camera Options

 

Technology is important for a photographer. As my wife would tell me, Alexander Gardner paved the way for photographers during the American Civil War. Currently, I use two types of Canon cameras, my original baby, the T-3 Rebel, a fantastic beginner’s camera for one who is just getting into photography and is on a very tight budget. The camera itself is versatile and light and can take a pounding. I have owned mine for 4 years and have taken over 20,000 photographs, dropped it, hiked and kayaked through multiple storms; it has weathered conditions ranging from 15 degrees below zero and temperatures above 100 and the camera just keeps on going. The Canon T-3 will teach the beginner patience. Every photographer wants that one shot that is the holy wow of shots. With the T-3 you will have to wait, anticipate, and shoot before the action happens. You see a bird such as a Blue Heron or an Egret spearing its head into the water for that fish or snake and then eating it. You want to capture that moment when the Heron or Egret is lifting its head out of the water and the droplets of water are spraying off of the neck and head. You will have to anticipate the shot and shoot, because the shutter speed on the T-3 does not provide a barrage of shots or the favorite photographer sound, the clicking shutter. The T-3 is a great camera; keep in mind it is not waterproof, however. Lesson learned.

My new favorite is the Canon T-5, an upgrade from the T-3. The shutter speed is just about the same as the T-3, but the picture quality is better. The megapixels are higher in the T-5 which will make the smallest of details stand out a little more – such as those water droplets spraying off of the neck and head of a Heron or Egret. Whether or not you buy direct from Canon or a store, the prices will vary, but the camera is a great investment for someone getting into photography. We found a great package deal at Amazon!

These are two cameras that will teach someone patience and assistance in understanding photography from a beginner’s point of view, instead of purchasing a higher-priced model right from the start. I feel one would come to appreciate what it means to be patient when taking photographs with these two models.
See you in the next post!

Author: The Ordinary Compass

Hello and welcome to this collection of anecdotes from my years of ordinary moments and timeless memories. I try to share a positive message, as well as lessons learned which have helped me appreciate life. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple (positive) gesture. I write in the hope that I can make a difference and you as the reader will also see the possibilities that surround you, and as well that the little things do make a big difference. I’m originally from New Jersey, have traveled and lived on both the east and west coasts, and have happily been a Virginia resident for more than ten years. I have been married for over ten years; my wife is my anchor and has kept my compass correct. I have always been an individual who likes the outdoors. I like taking my time to think about the outcomes of situations. I enjoy philosophy and love science. I am no stranger to high adrenaline activities and love everything that revolves around water. Thank you for stopping by and feel free to comment, re-blog (with credit), or just read along! –Robert Konz. The Ordinary Compass: Original photographs and writings are the copyright and property of Robert Konz, and may not be used without permission.

1 thought on “Tech Tips: Camera Options”

  1. Actually, megapixel is a marketing term. Fairly meaningless. In order for them to matter, you need a larger sensor and lenses that are of equal resolution to the sensor/pixel size. That said, the final arbiter of quality is working in RAW rather than jpeg.

    Like

Leave a Reply

