The cacti

The cacti

I read a quote posted the other day and it said don’t be negative just because you were given a cactus. I found this quote interesting because there are so many innuendos and / or interpretations that could be used for this. After all, some cacti are sharper than others. The negative part was a nice touch in this observation.

I was given a cactus but I enjoyed the lesson learned. Still with me? Most cacti are intended to be hardy plants; the cactus that is the subject of this post was a decidedly sturdy – and sharp – one. Human skin is nowhere near as tough as the exterior of a cactus. Get the point? Yes. That cactus stung. Lesson learned. As a result I did not mishandle or treat this cactus without reverence for the respect that it deserves. This lesson is one another cactus owner has yet to learn, but with time I believe this particular cactus owner will understand the point of this lesson. Yep. Pun intended.

Some favorite quotes to end today’s entry:

It’s not what happens to you, but how you react to it that matters. (Epictetus)

Love is like a friendship caught on fire. In the beginning a flame, very pretty, often hot and fierce, but still only light and flickering. As love grows older, our hearts mature and our love becomes as coals, deep-burning and unquenchable. (Bruce Lee)

Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire. (William Butler Yeats)

Courage is fire, and bullying is smoke. (Benjamin Disraeli)

And because it is Pierre de Coubertin’s birthday I wanted to conclude today’s entry with his thoughts: The important thing in life is not victory but combat; it is not to have vanquished but to have fought well.

See you in the next blog post!

Author: The Ordinary Compass

Hello and welcome to this collection of anecdotes from my years of ordinary moments and timeless memories. I try to share a positive message, as well as lessons learned which have helped me appreciate life. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple (positive) gesture. I write in the hope that I can make a difference and you as the reader will also see the possibilities that surround you, and as well that the little things do make a big difference. I’m originally from New Jersey, have traveled and lived on both the east and west coasts, and have happily been a Virginia resident for more than ten years. I have been married for over ten years; my wife is my anchor and has kept my compass correct. I have always been an individual who likes the outdoors. I like taking my time to think about the outcomes of situations. I enjoy philosophy and love science. I am no stranger to high adrenaline activities and love everything that revolves around water. Thank you for stopping by and feel free to comment, re-blog (with credit), or just read along! –Robert Konz. The Ordinary Compass: Original photographs and writings are the copyright and property of Robert Konz, and may not be used without permission.

Leave a Reply

