The mountain bike

The mountain bike

The mountain bike:

“I was dyslexic, I had no understanding of schoolwork whatsoever. I certainly would have failed IQ tests. And it was one of the reasons I left school when I was 15 years old. And if I – if I’m not interested in something, I don’t grasp it.” (Richard Branson)

Why did I pick this quote? Well, it’s me in a nutshell. I grew up in an interesting environment, so I tried to focus on a few select sports, and/or activities that made sense to me. This all goes back to I don’t like too many sports and the sports that I do like either will kill you, severely mess you up, or knock the shit out of you. Mountain biking is one of those types of sports that will do just that.

I enjoy promoting these types of sports. I have been off the trails and the ramps for more than six months, but the memories are fresh as the dirt kicking up as you are sliding around a berm or hearing a few bones crack. Some humor. However, my wife would not agree in seeing the humor in this.

I have met a lot of awesome people through the types of sports I love. I have also met a lot of individuals who are less enthusiastic about the passion, love and/or promoting these types of sports. That just goes with anything in life; there are at times a few broken spokes along your travels.

Every so often a broken spoke would come along in my travels and these two questions were always asked: What are you doing here? Why are you here? I would always reply mountain biking. Simple enough, right? If you have ever ridden, you know when there is a broken spoke; the entire rim is bent out of shape. Best try to just steer clear of entertaining any broken spokes.

I purchased my Gary Fisher around 10 years ago, upgraded just about everything on the bike over the years. I broke just about everything on it during my ventures. I try to take care of what have, regardless of how old it is. This bike might be old, but it is strong and sturdy; it takes a pounding and just keeps on rolling. One’s bike for the purpose of this blog is an extension of the rider and sometimes the rider itself. I’ve broken a few ribs, fingers, and a collarbone, and received a few bumps and bruises over the years, but that goes with what I was doing on my bike.

Some favorite quotes to end today’s entry:

“My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style.” (Maya Angelou)

“Create your own visual style… let it be unique for yourself and yet identifiable for others.”   (Orson Welles)

“In matters of style, swim with the current; in matters of principle, stand like a rock.” (Thomas Jefferson)

See you in the next post!

Author: The Ordinary Compass

Hello and welcome to this collection of anecdotes from my years of ordinary moments and timeless memories. I try to share a positive message, as well as lessons learned which have helped me appreciate life. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple (positive) gesture. I write in the hope that I can make a difference and you as the reader will also see the possibilities that surround you, and as well that the little things do make a big difference. I’m originally from New Jersey, have traveled and lived on both the east and west coasts, and have happily been a Virginia resident for more than ten years. I have been married for over ten years; my wife is my anchor and has kept my compass correct. I have always been an individual who likes the outdoors. I like taking my time to think about the outcomes of situations. I enjoy philosophy and love science. I am no stranger to high adrenaline activities and love everything that revolves around water. Thank you for stopping by and feel free to comment, re-blog (with credit), or just read along! –Robert Konz. The Ordinary Compass: Original photographs and writings are the copyright and property of Robert Konz, and may not be used without permission.

Leave a Reply

