The paint drip

The paint drip

The paint drip:

Let’s talk about painting rails on wooden crosswalks and doing the job correctly….I try to enjoy the work I do no matter what it may entail. I take pride in my work and I don’t believe in “half-assing” the task at hand. So, for the bridge in question, this particular tiny little bridge was an eyesore each time one walked, jogged, ran, or rode a bike over it. Have OCD? Then, an eyesore such as this bridge may affect you even more. That bridge needed a lot of TLC.

                                                                 The paint brush

                                 At times the pen is mightier than the sword

For this particular bridge, my first steps were to clean the dirt, grime, mildew, and rust as much as possible. Why paint without cleaning? Eventually, the grime will show through as the paint begins to fade over time. Case in point: This bridge. Coat one follows.   Since the bridge is exposed to the elements, as is the painter, then drips of paint may land in unexpected places. That, dear readers, is what a power washer is for once the new paint job has been finished.   Since this paint job was for a public place of business, all eyes were upon the job in progress. A supervisor stopped by after the first coat, noticed the paint drippings, and suggested I take a break.   The next day another supervisor told me to stop everything. No reason. Just stop and was given the cold shoulder and was told to go for a walk or something. OK. I will go for walk and let the rest of the project go without being completed for the day. Why not, I could use a 4 mile walk. So, later that week I had a meeting with yet another supervisor. Have you counted yet? Three? Four? I had so many supervisors they couldn’t keep track of who wanted me to do what. Too many hands in the cookie jar. I took it as a compliment. Complaints were tossed about regarding the incomplete paint job. Hmmm….Needless to say, the bridge remained incomplete until after an endless round of meetings regarding so-called incomplete paint job. Are you following? The delay in completing the job could have been resolved if the chain of command had simply asked a simple question: Could you clear the paint drippings when you are finished with the paint job? That would be too simple…Right?

Once I completed the job, it took two hours. Notice that? Two hours and no catastrophes! I received many compliments from patrons, both regulars and newcomers. The completed task looked 10 times better than the original. Not a paint spot anywhere and the damn thing looked new. The next day when I arrived at work, there were three supervisors looking at my work, all of whom were bewildered as to why I not only finished the original task (the new paint job), but also removed the paint drippings from my in-progress painting. I was asked the following question, and to this day I still laugh at this. “When did you flip the bridge? It looks brand new and I want to know when you flipped the bridge.” Enough said.

Some favorite quotes to end today’s entry:

“It’s like Forrest Gump said, ‘Life is like a box of chocolates.’ Your career is like a box of chocolates – you never know what you’re going to get. But everything you get is going to teach you something along the way and make you the person you are today. That’s the exciting part – it’s an adventure in itself.” (Nick Carter)

“What you are will show in what you do.” (Thomas A. Edison)

Goodness is about character – integrity, honesty, kindness, generosity, moral courage, and the like. More than anything else, it is about how we treat other people. (Dennis Prager)

“A good job is more than just a paycheck. A good job fosters independence and discipline, and contributes to the health of the community. A good job is a means to provide for the health and welfare of your family, to own a home, and save for retirement.” (James H. Douglas, Jr.)

And because it is Rudyard Kipling’s birthday I wanted to conclude today’s entry with his thoughts: “Words are, of course, the most powerful drug used by mankind.”

See you in the next post!

Author: The Ordinary Compass

Hello and welcome to this collection of anecdotes from my years of ordinary moments and timeless memories. I try to share a positive message, as well as lessons learned which have helped me appreciate life. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple (positive) gesture. I write in the hope that I can make a difference and you as the reader will also see the possibilities that surround you, and as well that the little things do make a big difference. I’m originally from New Jersey, have traveled and lived on both the east and west coasts, and have happily been a Virginia resident for more than ten years. I have been married for over ten years; my wife is my anchor and has kept my compass correct. I have always been an individual who likes the outdoors. I like taking my time to think about the outcomes of situations. I enjoy philosophy and love science. I am no stranger to high adrenaline activities and love everything that revolves around water. Thank you for stopping by and feel free to comment, re-blog (with credit), or just read along! –Robert Konz. The Ordinary Compass: Original photographs and writings are the copyright and property of Robert Konz, and may not be used without permission.

Leave a Reply

