The TOOL

The TOOL

Each US citizen should be aware of the following three key pieces of legislation:

  • ·         The Bill of Rights
  • ·         The United States Constitution
  • ·         The Declaration of Independence

So, where is this going? The Second Amendment has always been of interest to me. I have always been intrigued by individual interpretations of this amendment by the “average Joe” or “average Jane,” as well as discussions of the amendment by members of law enforcement and the armed services, and government officials, NRA members (who often may fit into either or both of the previous categories), etc..

The benefit of being a citizen of the modern era is the access to information and the ability to study the past and present. That is something our forebears did not have – at least as readily as we do today. I have my own opinions and I am going to share them using some humor and, as always, my wife’s editing of my musings. My content is all over the place at times; yet, I can write ad nauseam about a topic about which I am most passionate. The formatting may be off, and an APA guru may cringe, but the opportunity to share and connect with readers through this blog is an opportunity that I do not take for granted.

So, back to why I chose the title TOOL…

                                    The pen is mightier than the sword at times.

                                                                    Getting the point….

The statement, “Guns don’t kill people, people kill people,” has always intrigued me, too. I guess that is due to my interest in the 2nd Amendment. I wonder what the Founding Fathers would think of this statement? Would Alexander Hamilton have thought this prior to his duel with Aaron Burr (or vice versa)?

So, while this blog entry is only barely scratching the surface of a very contentious issue, I thought I would venture into the fray. I guess this is what it is like to dip one’s toes into the shallow end of a pool. A former supervisor once told me that he wanted to hear the “grit” when I spoke to him; in other words, if I could not get to the heart of the matter quickly, he did not want to hear anything. That is what this blog post is attempting to do – convey the “grit”….Is that simple enough?

A gun, pistol, weapon, or whatever one wants to call it is a last resort, and should ONLY be used as a last resort. The thought alone of another individual dying because of my actions is overwhelming enough, but to actually have to shoot someone because of unforeseen circumstances is even more so. More importantly, for those who do own weapons, not only is fully understanding how to safely and properly handle, maintain, and store a weapon a necessity, but it is also the owner’s responsibility to do so. I choose to bear arms as the 2nd amendment allows; I choose to protect my family; and more importantly, I choose the responsibility that comes with such privilege.

Some favorite quotes to end today’s entry:

“Work hard for what you want because it won’t come to you without a fight. You have to be strong and courageous and know that you can do anything you put your mind to. If somebody puts you down or criticizes you, just keep on believing in yourself and turn it into something positive.” (Leah LaBelle)

“The world breaks everyone, and afterward, some are strong at the broken places.” (Ernest Hemingway)

“We don’t even know how strong we are until we are forced to bring that hidden strength forward. In times of tragedy, of war, of necessity, people do amazing things. The human capacity for survival and renewal is awesome.” (Isabel Allende)

And because it is Pablo Casal’s birthday I wanted to conclude today’s entry with: “Each person has inside a basic decency and goodness. If he listens to it and acts on it, he is giving a great deal of what it is the world needs most. It is not complicated but it takes courage. It takes courage for a person to listen to his own goodness and act on it.”

See you in the next post!

Author: The Ordinary Compass

Hello and welcome to this collection of anecdotes from my years of ordinary moments and timeless memories. I try to share a positive message, as well as lessons learned which have helped me appreciate life. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple (positive) gesture. I write in the hope that I can make a difference and you as the reader will also see the possibilities that surround you, and as well that the little things do make a big difference. I’m originally from New Jersey, have traveled and lived on both the east and west coasts, and have happily been a Virginia resident for more than ten years. I have been married for over ten years; my wife is my anchor and has kept my compass correct. I have always been an individual who likes the outdoors. I like taking my time to think about the outcomes of situations. I enjoy philosophy and love science. I am no stranger to high adrenaline activities and love everything that revolves around water. Thank you for stopping by and feel free to comment, re-blog (with credit), or just read along! –Robert Konz. The Ordinary Compass: Original photographs and writings are the copyright and property of Robert Konz, and may not be used without permission.

Leave a Reply

