Tranquility vs. Chaos: Segment One

Tranquility vs. Chaos: Segment One

When I am kayaking or on the water I am in my comfort zone. Even more so, when I have a camera in my hand. My fellow photographers may understand this feeling….I look at the environment and 90% of the time I am in a state of awe with what I see. My photos are  a way to share these moments to hopefully inspire someone to believe in something when there is nothing left to believe in.

I take a lot of sky related pictures as well as flower pictures because those are the easiest mediums in which to perfect my art. When I look at the sky, I look back to my past and reflect where I have been and where I want to be.  A childhood is meant to be cherished, not a haunting dream. It relaxes me to watch the clouds change form, or the trees swaying with the leaves bouncing around like they a part in a play or a musical note ready to sound off in a symphony. The sound of the wind whistling through the branches as they are creaking, the leaves falling like a sound of a potato chip being crunched are soothing elements to me. I love the ambiance of the solitude. I can be myself when I am clicking away behind the camera lens. I don’t have to hide what I feel or see, because I am trying to capture that single moment on a picture.

Zen

Natures Romance

When I see a flower in the morning it is the same thing as when I look into to the sky. The dew or a slight mist dripping off the flower petals represents the transition between the morning that was and the day that is yet to be. The flower is cleansing itself to prepare the way for new beginnings. The photo capture of a flower dripping with moisture is sensual in nature and has a romantic quality to it. When love is dry it has no wonders to be discovered and has no desire to be something greater than just a flower. When love is dripping with water it has passion yet to be unleashed and the desire to survive in the harshest of conditions.

These still-life photos represent the way in which I see the world around me. This is my way to express myself in the midst of a world filled with chaos.

See you in the next post!

Author: The Ordinary Compass

Hello and welcome to this collection of anecdotes from my years of ordinary moments and timeless memories. I try to share a positive message, as well as lessons learned which have helped me appreciate life. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple (positive) gesture. I write in the hope that I can make a difference and you as the reader will also see the possibilities that surround you, and as well that the little things do make a big difference. I’m originally from New Jersey, have traveled and lived on both the east and west coasts, and have happily been a Virginia resident for more than ten years. I have been married for over ten years; my wife is my anchor and has kept my compass correct. I have always been an individual who likes the outdoors. I like taking my time to think about the outcomes of situations. I enjoy philosophy and love science. I am no stranger to high adrenaline activities and love everything that revolves around water. Thank you for stopping by and feel free to comment, re-blog (with credit), or just read along! –Robert Konz. The Ordinary Compass: Original photographs and writings are the copyright and property of Robert Konz, and may not be used without permission.

Leave a Reply

