A recipe for a slow cooker

A recipe for a slow cooker:

These are my musings, and with a lot of patience and help from my wife, my in laws, and a couple mentors that will remain nameless, I have been breaking the habit of not expressing myself vocally. I usually am just a one-word, maybe two-word, type of individual; so for me, self-expression through writing is a struggle. I have a lot I want to convey and using one or two words will just not work anymore.

Riddle me this, riddle me that…. This expression is for the ones who have no identity or goal other than intimidation, empty promises, or lies, or those who are incapable of expressing genuine empathy towards another human being. Being positive or negative has nothing to do with being honest with yourself and showing individuals around you that you can empathize. This is for the ones who live in a web of lies, and those who, even if they have been at death’s door, still cannot express true humility or truly understand and / or empathize with others. At least that’s my experience. I guess in some cases when individuals are so insecure, the need to feed off of other’s hardships becomes a way of life.

How depressing that there are those who live a life such as this…. What does that say about your history or the legacy you will leave behind? Perhaps it is easier to use the words or work of others rather than thinking critically; I can only assume that said individuals are trying to fill a void. Personally, my shell is full of heartache reflecting what I have and what I still do witness and feel. I can care less if I have cried or cry in public. At least I know I am alive inside. When it’s time to release, it is time. This doesn’t mean you are not a responsible individual or that you cannot fully function in society. In fact, I would prefer to see individuals express their emotions more frequently; perhaps there would be fewer public displays of violence. After all, if one is not afraid to express emotion, then children and young people will then grow up to understand that expressing oneself does not make one weak. I have known and currently know many people who are the real deal, and are not afraid to cry or show empathy.

See you in the next post!

Author: The Ordinary Compass

Hello and welcome to this collection of anecdotes from my years of ordinary moments and timeless memories. I try to share a positive message, as well as lessons learned which have helped me appreciate life. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple (positive) gesture. I write in the hope that I can make a difference and you as the reader will also see the possibilities that surround you, and as well that the little things do make a big difference. I’m originally from New Jersey, have traveled and lived on both the east and west coasts, and have happily been a Virginia resident for more than ten years. I have been married for over ten years; my wife is my anchor and has kept my compass correct. I have always been an individual who likes the outdoors. I like taking my time to think about the outcomes of situations. I enjoy philosophy and love science. I am no stranger to high adrenaline activities and love everything that revolves around water. Thank you for stopping by and feel free to comment, re-blog (with credit), or just read along! –Robert Konz. The Ordinary Compass: Original photographs and writings are the copyright and property of Robert Konz, and may not be used without permission.

Leave a Reply

