Equality

Equality:

As I stated in previous posts, I have to have some fun because writing is no different than music in some ways. You have your strong deep tones, your lighter tones. I have no middle tones at the moment. Some humor:] I am hitting a different note this time because, I am so serious all the time and have no sense of humor. At least that’s what I have been told. I’m too philosophical. I’m slowly reeling myself in, but It was my childhood, so why can’t I have some fun when I write about myself? So, here it goes, and it is a “doozy”! So…race, gender, sexual preference, or nationality should have nothing to do with how you treat another person! There’s a bigger picture than stereotyping! That is my opinion and I stick by it. If you’re an asshole, you’re an asshole.

One’s childhood, purportedly the foundation of our lives, may be the most detrimental time for understanding why we should contribute to society. The belief structures of each child’s environment are different, resulting in different lessons learned. Who defines and decides who is better than another person? Is it your ego, the subculture in which you were raised, your parent’s beliefs, your status? This will be an ongoing and perplexing debate for generations yet to come. I will just continue reading the interesting arguments from Nurture vs Nature scholars or until the nurturing destroys the nature of our planet. I can only write about my own personal experiences.

My environment was definitely interesting and I am going to just scratch the surface. I am going to use two analogies. The first will be an eraser. Stay with me. You take an eraser and you rub it on a surface and those little particulars left behind are the effect. You can either wipe them away or just blow them off of the surface. The second analogy will be about chili. Chili isn’t really chili without the “heart” of the recipe. If you just have a pot on the stove and no ingredients, then you are just prepping. The pot on the stove is just a part of the entire recipe.

So, before I moved into my one room of HELL above this glorious bar (see previous blog post- “Things I didn’t see”), there were a few tenants who lived there before me. Who they were doesn’t matter. This room catered to a basic scenario of one of two outcomes: Jail or Death. Scene setup: racketeering, embezzlement, money laundering, politics, gambling, drugs, guns, prostitution, and whoever else was involved. This was my childhood…. I read something from a well-known and respected National Geographic WWI era photographer, Jeff Gusky, whom I personally respect; he hit the nail right on the head. He notes, “There are so many mysteries underground, left behind by soldiers a hundred years ago. What are they trying to communicate to the future? What legacy did they leave behind?” This single comment should make one think. It made me think!  These were soldiers/human beings in some horrific situations, but a single theme remained: The human element of survival, passion, anger, love, humor, teamwork – in spite of the horror of the situation. This makes me appreciate why we keep records of the past – so that people remember us, will understand why we keep fighting, why we left images behind, did the things we did, or how we made a difference regardless of our stance or position. In the photographs from Jeff Gusky, these individuals in most cases suffered horrific deaths; their legacy is timeless, however.   So, when you are considering your own past, think about how you can share your experiences with others, regardless of the horror or beauty of your past.

So, equality?

See you in the next post!

Some favorite quotes to end today’s entry:

When you choose your friends, don’t be short-changed by choosing personality over character. (W. Somerset Maugham)

In the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.

(Abraham Lincoln)

The truth is you don’t know what is going to happen tomorrow. Life is a crazy ride, and nothing is guaranteed. (Eminem)

The eyes of others our prisons; their thoughts our cages. (Virginia Woolf)

Author: The Ordinary Compass

Hello and welcome to this collection of anecdotes from my years of ordinary moments and timeless memories. I try to share a positive message, as well as lessons learned which have helped me appreciate life. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple (positive) gesture. I write in the hope that I can make a difference and you as the reader will also see the possibilities that surround you, and as well that the little things do make a big difference. I’m originally from New Jersey, have traveled and lived on both the east and west coasts, and have happily been a Virginia resident for more than ten years. I have been married for over ten years; my wife is my anchor and has kept my compass correct. I have always been an individual who likes the outdoors. I like taking my time to think about the outcomes of situations. I enjoy philosophy and love science. I am no stranger to high adrenaline activities and love everything that revolves around water. Thank you for stopping by and feel free to comment, re-blog (with credit), or just read along! –Robert Konz. The Ordinary Compass: Original photographs and writings are the copyright and property of Robert Konz, and may not be used without permission.

Leave a Reply

