Getting the jolt

Getting the jolt:

Getting the jolt:

There is nothing quite like having 50,000 volts of electricity pulsating throughout your body to jump-start your afternoon. You notice the smell of the grass, and the clouds overhead; you are standing in a field anticipating what is about to come next; then “POP” “ZAP!”. Instant paralysis…. Some expletives before and after are definitely necessary. The result: Total chaos of your entire nervous system and that 1.3 to 1.4 kg brain of yours just went into complete stimulus overload. The body just received a cardiovascular exercise like nothing you have experienced before. Unless you have been exposed to high voltage electrical wires and almost electrocuted, which is even more painful… That’s for another blog.

So, you are on the ground with two probes waiting to be pulled out of the skin of your back and the only things coming out of your mouth are a few expletives and nothing but silence afterwards. The probes are removed; the blood is cleaned up and you walk away not quite the same as you were a few minutes ago. Your body is still figuring out what in the world just happened. Folks, unless you have (CIP), are doped up on high amounts of meth & ICE, or you are Navy SEAL “Tracker Dan,” you will go down once you are hit with a Taser.

My personal experience is this: As soon as that voltage hits you, you go down, and the result is that your body is “out of sorts” for a few days. My experience was a controlled exercise and hands down I would rather be gassed or sprayed with OC in the face and fight my way through a gauntlet of hell over being tased. The wonders of technology are amazing when it comes to non-lethal products. They are effective and are a great deterrent to keep a distance of open space between you and the attacker while protecting yourself.

See you in the next post!

 

Author: The Ordinary Compass

Hello and welcome to this collection of anecdotes from my years of ordinary moments and timeless memories. I try to share a positive message, as well as lessons learned which have helped me appreciate life. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple (positive) gesture. I write in the hope that I can make a difference and you as the reader will also see the possibilities that surround you, and as well that the little things do make a big difference. I’m originally from New Jersey, have traveled and lived on both the east and west coasts, and have happily been a Virginia resident for more than ten years. I have been married for over ten years; my wife is my anchor and has kept my compass correct. I have always been an individual who likes the outdoors. I like taking my time to think about the outcomes of situations. I enjoy philosophy and love science. I am no stranger to high adrenaline activities and love everything that revolves around water. Thank you for stopping by and feel free to comment, re-blog (with credit), or just read along! –Robert Konz. The Ordinary Compass: Original photographs and writings are the copyright and property of Robert Konz, and may not be used without permission.

Leave a Reply

