Moments of vulnerability

Moments of vulnerability:

So, you tell someone you love them. I love you. Simple enough right? Love is not an emotion to play around with. The OED includes a definition, and academics from Stanford, Oxford, Princeton, Harvard, and many other institutions have written thousands upon thousands of articles; similarly, theses and doctorates have been written on the topic, but I am not going to use any of them. This feeling, or, rather, emotion could be defined as total chaos of thought coming together for a single moment of time and put into total clarity! Pure Fire! Controlled lightening in a bottle as one would try to explain as raw electricity. Boom! Thunder! Electrocution of all synapses at once! This one single word, “love,” is an unimaginable source of inner strength that could be used for good or evil.

Now, if someone tells you that they love you and breaks down in total tears, then one could without a doubt argue that they are secure in the trust that they have just given you! A trust of total control of all of their emotions at a single moment…Talk about absolute vulnerability just shown towards another individual…The individual (Male or Female) on the receiving side was just given a “gift” on a level of unimaginable perplexity. This doesn’t mean the person telling you that they love you wants to spend the rest of their lives with you, but has most undoubtedly just shown the purest form of respect and trust. Spending the rest of your life with someone is another subject of entirely different complexity and in most cases has nothing to do with what I am talking about in this post. Being vulnerable in front of someone on this level is not a game and is not something that happens often in one’s lifetime. So, if and when this gift happens to you, take it seriously and show it the respect it deserves. I would rather be scared to the point I piss or shit my pants rather than exploit this vulnerability.

Showing this amount of trust and actually coming across another individual who evokes this type of feeling is rare and is why I call it a gift. How many times have you experienced this unimaginable feeling that forces you to look so deep within yourself it drops you to your knees and brings you to tears? Talk about raw energy! The formula E=mc2 has nothing on love! However, if Einstein were alive I believe he would put it to the test. Perhaps he even did during his lifetime?

Love can bring someone to do a triathlon one day, and a marathon the next, while still holding down an incredible physically labor intensive job and feel no pain! No drugs needed! Love can bring people to do unimaginable things that one would never be able to do normally. Love is wonderful! Love is a source of unimaginable energy that cannot be quantified.

 

See you in the next post!

Author: The Ordinary Compass

Hello and welcome to this collection of anecdotes from my years of ordinary moments and timeless memories. I try to share a positive message, as well as lessons learned which have helped me appreciate life. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple (positive) gesture. I write in the hope that I can make a difference and you as the reader will also see the possibilities that surround you, and as well that the little things do make a big difference. I’m originally from New Jersey, have traveled and lived on both the east and west coasts, and have happily been a Virginia resident for more than ten years. I have been married for over ten years; my wife is my anchor and has kept my compass correct. I have always been an individual who likes the outdoors. I like taking my time to think about the outcomes of situations. I enjoy philosophy and love science. I am no stranger to high adrenaline activities and love everything that revolves around water. Thank you for stopping by and feel free to comment, re-blog (with credit), or just read along! –Robert Konz. The Ordinary Compass: Original photographs and writings are the copyright and property of Robert Konz, and may not be used without permission.

Leave a Reply

