The artist’s process

The artist’s process:

The artist’s process:

So, since my goal for this blog is to share some photographs in a weekly blog post, as well as my processes behind the photo, I thought I would provide a glimpse of how I decide what photos to take. I often view photos and artwork, or listen to music and wonder about the artist’s perspective. It is interesting to hear about the artist’s process and why the artists chose a certain medium, a particular angle for a photograph, words in a song with that particular harmonic beat, and / or the darkness or colorful articulations that the music is trying to convey. For me, my photographs are a commentary on my past experiences – but with a twist…. I look back to my past and reflect where I have been and I am trying to have some fun, but doing it wisely to educate, entertain, and hopefully make a few people laugh. That’s reality, folks!

Now let’s talk about words for a second, specifically the use of words. That is something isn’t it? Talking instead of fighting. The exchange of ideas. What a concept. I left a door open a long time ago for communication and the possibility of this going somewhere, but no one has contacted me yet. Do you think I was too obvious by leaving my email address on my social media pages? I guess I have to be more creative than using my name…. So, this blogging is fun. My wife really wanted me to edit these four sentences, but I think these are germane to the blog.

So, my family feels I shouldn’t speak my mind or be as blunt as I am on certain topics, but I believe the truth will set you free. Prosaic? Of course – on purpose. I have learned that it is important to have a sense of humor about it all. Forrest Gump may not have had it correct after all; life is not like a box of chocolates every single day.

This brings back a memory from 2nd or 3rd grade; I was the mighty green machine and the focal point of the entire school play. I remember being scared shitless and when it came time to actually sing, I could not. I just stood frozen on the stage in front of everybody and said nothing and wanted to throw up. Well, that was grade school and I still want to throw up sometimes. Well, I am now singing the song….

See you in the next post!

Some favorite quotes to end today’s entry:

There is no instinct like that of the heart. (Lord Byron)

Art is the most intense mode of individualism that the world has known. (Oscar Wilde)

I have no fear of making changes, destroying the image, etc., because the painting has a life of its own. (Jackson Pollock)

Every day we should hear at least one little song, read one good poem, see one exquisite picture, and, if possible, speak a few sensible words. (Johann Wolfgang von Goethe)

 

Author: The Ordinary Compass

Hello and welcome to this collection of anecdotes from my years of ordinary moments and timeless memories. I try to share a positive message, as well as lessons learned which have helped me appreciate life. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple (positive) gesture. I write in the hope that I can make a difference and you as the reader will also see the possibilities that surround you, and as well that the little things do make a big difference. I’m originally from New Jersey, have traveled and lived on both the east and west coasts, and have happily been a Virginia resident for more than ten years. I have been married for over ten years; my wife is my anchor and has kept my compass correct. I have always been an individual who likes the outdoors. I like taking my time to think about the outcomes of situations. I enjoy philosophy and love science. I am no stranger to high adrenaline activities and love everything that revolves around water. Thank you for stopping by and feel free to comment, re-blog (with credit), or just read along! –Robert Konz. The Ordinary Compass: Original photographs and writings are the copyright and property of Robert Konz, and may not be used without permission.

Leave a Reply

