The thrill

The thrill:

The power is on; you wait for the computer to boot up, and then you access your favorite news website. The news is everywhere. What shall I hear, read, or feel today? After all, it really doesn’t matter where you go for that source of information, because it is all the same news. You are checking for the personality and not the news anymore. It doesn’t really matter what the news is, but you just want to know how that personality will convey the news today.

News is 96% bad, 2% charity /good deeds, and 2% informative (notice I did not say that the latter was “positive”). Now this is just my personal perspective and with over 7 billion people on this planet, I am sure maybe one or two other people might agree. It’s not really what is on the news that matters, it is how it is perceived and conveyed to the masses. What do you think? There are thousands upon thousands of stories and with all of the different media platforms, there are just as many personalities explaining the stories in various ways. So, basically news is entertainment.

Perhaps it has always been this way…. After all, have you ever read a newspaper from the 19th century? Many were full of the latest brawls and “whodunits”. Why bother even reading, listening, or feeling what the articles are in today’s news, when you just have to look, feel, or hear some of what the titles are. Mass destruction, a “first look” at the horrific scene that just unfolded, or total chaos on an unfounded level which just hit a community…. What? Let’s see what it is. I need know. I have to know!

Now, what would happen if one used that same concept in promoting good things, charitable things, or positive things – and turned that 2% into the 96%? The ratings would plummet, the audience would tune out the news, and social media would become boring. Why? Our society is one that needs, craves, desires, feeds off of any source of drama. Many seem to literally “need” the knowledge that something bad is happening somewhere in the world. I am often amazed at what I come across when reading the morning news. I have to determine whether it is important or not. Bruce Lee once put it best, “use what is useful and disregard the rest”.

See you in the next post!

Author: The Ordinary Compass

Hello and welcome to this collection of anecdotes from my years of ordinary moments and timeless memories. I try to share a positive message, as well as lessons learned which have helped me appreciate life. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple (positive) gesture. I write in the hope that I can make a difference and you as the reader will also see the possibilities that surround you, and as well that the little things do make a big difference. I’m originally from New Jersey, have traveled and lived on both the east and west coasts, and have happily been a Virginia resident for more than ten years. I have been married for over ten years; my wife is my anchor and has kept my compass correct. I have always been an individual who likes the outdoors. I like taking my time to think about the outcomes of situations. I enjoy philosophy and love science. I am no stranger to high adrenaline activities and love everything that revolves around water. Thank you for stopping by and feel free to comment, re-blog (with credit), or just read along! –Robert Konz. The Ordinary Compass: Original photographs and writings are the copyright and property of Robert Konz, and may not be used without permission.

Leave a Reply

