The ultimate 550

The ultimate 550:

At a top speed of just under 50 mph, the sound is nothing short of music being played at a concert and could be heard for miles. Suffice to say two engines later, I learned how to take a pounding on the water with this bad boy. A few concussions, split chin, a few broken fingers, torn ligaments, and a lot of bruises… But hands down the greatest times in my life time were on this crazy machine!

Rain or shine I was in it! Anywhere. Anytime. It was a drug of which I could not get enough. This was my drug of choice. So, now let me talk about one specific excursion, which still makes me laugh today anytime I remember it. This day was just another summer’s day on the water. Then, the clouds rolled in and the wind picked up; meanwhile, everyone is huddled inside their homes. I, however, fueled up “The Pink Beast” with High Octane Cam 2 and an extra cup or two of higher octane based race fuel. This little machine did not just look good for show, but it was also a beast under the bright neon colors. This machine just “wanted” to explode when the throttle was tapped and hit the water, hence the name “The Pink Beast”. That was an engine of marvel my readers. Straight up custom paint job and engine were as one: neon pink, blue, yellow, and black. I was secure in my sexuality and could care less what anyone thought.

The tank is full, and all functions tested properly. The wind is still picking up, so I know it’s going to be a nice ride. After putting on my vest, off I go. Everything is still calm, because I am in between coves and the bulk of the weather has yet to arrive. I reach the mouth of the bay and I can already see the whitewash curling over the water. Instant 4 footers and I was just in utter bliss, because I knew they were going to get bigger. I am just at the mouth of the bay and I am about to venture out into the unknown, but I knew my machine was running at peak performance and so was I.

The storm hits and the wind just started screaming, but I was on a mission of pure unadulterated adrenaline. I focus, slow my breathing, crouch down and gun it. The engine is screaming; the waves are slamming against my body like a freight train; and I am alone on the water by myself, meaning there was no room for error. In between each wave interval I would see sky, the water, and land, then nothing but a wall of water. I could also see the land goers watching me in disbelief, but I could care less. I knew my machine’s capabilities as well as my own, so I was secure in what I was doing. When the weather conditions are in a full blown meltdown, and you are in control, you also hope your machine does not give out on you. So you brace your body in such a position so that when you go airborne you don’t get thrown from the machine into the abyss. As you’re airborne you throttle down so not to seize the engine. The water comes up fast, so throttle up and keep moving forward. This is a nonstop dance of orchestrated ballet between you, the elements, and your machine. The wind and water are hitting your face and could only be described as getting slapped in the face open handed, but you can care less, because this is all part of the moment. Everything is in unison.

Keep in mind I was in full control of what I was doing, knew my limitations as well as my machines and came into shore when I knew my time was up. The last thing I wanted was to be stranded in the middle of the bay in those conditions. I return to the dock; the neighbors are in disbelief that I went out in the storm. Hey, I am just enjoying my summer afternoon before I have to return back to my job at the bar…. When you get a day off, you take it! The memory is priceless, and will continue to make me laugh at the reactions of bystanders. The storm sustained winds of 30+mph and gusted up to 60 at times. Priceless summer day…

See you in the next post!

Author: The Ordinary Compass

Hello and welcome to this collection of anecdotes from my years of ordinary moments and timeless memories. I try to share a positive message, as well as lessons learned which have helped me appreciate life. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple (positive) gesture. I write in the hope that I can make a difference and you as the reader will also see the possibilities that surround you, and as well that the little things do make a big difference. I’m originally from New Jersey, have traveled and lived on both the east and west coasts, and have happily been a Virginia resident for more than ten years. I have been married for over ten years; my wife is my anchor and has kept my compass correct. I have always been an individual who likes the outdoors. I like taking my time to think about the outcomes of situations. I enjoy philosophy and love science. I am no stranger to high adrenaline activities and love everything that revolves around water. Thank you for stopping by and feel free to comment, re-blog (with credit), or just read along! –Robert Konz. The Ordinary Compass: Original photographs and writings are the copyright and property of Robert Konz, and may not be used without permission.

Leave a Reply

