World of Dolphins

Dolphins are an inspiring sight to see and even more so if you have the privilege to actually be in such close proximity to get a glimpse into the world of marvelous wonders these mammals offer the onlooker, surfer, kayaker, or spectator from a dolphin tour or on the beach.  A while back, I mentioned on social media how being around dolphins in Virginia Beach, whether swimming or kayaking, is an experience within itself and a privilege.  (My post:  “Come and check out Virginia Beach. Swimming or kayaking around a pod of dolphins is within itself an experience and a privilege. Taking pictures is an extra bonus.”)  I received one response which indicated that dolphins in Virginia Beach are “common dolphins,” rather than bottlenose dolphins (as if those are so rare!), and I should not provide misinformation.       Mindboggling!

So, if you have the opportunity or the privilege to swim, surf, kayak, see, watch, or go on a tour to be around dolphins, does it really make a difference what kind of dolphin it is? How many people do you think never have the privilege or the humbling opportunity to even come in contact with a dolphin, particularly from a close distance?  Personally, out of the 43 – 44 types of dolphin species, I am always in a state of awe when I encounter one.

Humbling experience when you are kayaking and these wonderful mammals are swimming next to you

Now we can get technical and identify each type of dolphin species, including their locations, eating habits, group dynamics, migration patterns, etc., or address the ongoing threats from poachers, fishing liners, accidental boat strikes, pollution such as waste dumps, netting left behind from trollers, micro beads, and even radioactive material in our waterways from disasters (Fukishima, for example) and / or oil spills and gas contamination from tankers. So, regardless of what type of dolphin it is or where these fantastic mammals swim, I will continue to be amazed and feel privileged to be around them.  After all, what does it really matter what species a dolphin represents to most of us (unless, of course, one is a scientist, marine biologist, etc.)?

See you in the next post!

Author: The Ordinary Compass

Hello and welcome to this collection of anecdotes from my years of ordinary moments and timeless memories. I try to share a positive message, as well as lessons learned which have helped me appreciate life. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple (positive) gesture. I write in the hope that I can make a difference and you as the reader will also see the possibilities that surround you, and as well that the little things do make a big difference. I’m originally from New Jersey, have traveled and lived on both the east and west coasts, and have happily been a Virginia resident for more than ten years. I have been married for over ten years; my wife is my anchor and has kept my compass correct. I have always been an individual who likes the outdoors. I like taking my time to think about the outcomes of situations. I enjoy philosophy and love science. I am no stranger to high adrenaline activities and love everything that revolves around water. Thank you for stopping by and feel free to comment, re-blog (with credit), or just read along! –Robert Konz. The Ordinary Compass: Original photographs and writings are the copyright and property of Robert Konz, and may not be used without permission.

Leave a Reply

