New Year’s Resolution 2016

Are you still working on your New Year’s Resolution? Some will laugh and others will be well, who knows or nay or yay. So, the year is moving right along and it is now April. I’m hoping everyone’s first four months of the year have been going well, because it’s just the beginning. Every day brings something new and with that said I hope each little moment, may it be good or bad, has helped in some form another. Why the bad?  We each experience traumatic events, some of which are more traumatic than others.  I always try to remember that, whatever the circumstances, there is always good around the corner. Always! I have to remind myself that quite often….  To quote William James, “Believe that life is worth living and your belief will help create the fact.”  And to quote one of my favorite philosophers, Aristotle, “Hope is a waking dream”. So, here is to new memories, new beginnings or endings to certain facets of our lives.  Personally, I try to look at the positive in every situation regardless of how dark the particular event or whatever the situation may be at that given point and time. I would be a fool to say or admit I never get angry or upset, but I am human, as are we all, and as such, we all have emotions.

I always try to remember I am alive and how far I have come, including the obstacles I have overcome to be where I am today.  However, I tend to forget that fact and beat myself up quite often, because I see where I would like to be, and at times feel I am racing the clock…. This has been my new year’s resolution for the past 20+ years: Take each day as a gift and learn from my thousands upon thousands of mistakes. I strive to learn not only from my mistakes, but from those of others as well. That is the purpose of this journey we call “life”.  I have no disillusion to the fact that there are individuals out there who have it worse than where I have fought to be; they are still fighting an uphill battle, may it be PTSD, depression, money issues, family issues, drug issues, etc., that often no one will ever know but close friends or relatives (and in some cases no one).  Each year, I try to learn to do better, and I am working on letting go of the reality that I want to help everyone, since I simply cannot.  I am only human and only can do so much.

Some days are definitely much harder than others and if anyone tells you otherwise, ignore them! We each have the ability to make a difference in our idiosyncratic lives, but it is the impact on the lives of others that may be even more important.   So, what are your priorities?  With the summer starting to open its eyes, even though it seems Mother Nature has been going back to sleep at times, there is no better time than right now to make a difference in your life and those of others during the remainder of 2016. It is time for new memories, new love, new mistakes to learn from, and a life of new beginnings.

Thank you and see you at the next post.

Author: The Ordinary Compass

Hello and welcome to this collection of anecdotes from my years of ordinary moments and timeless memories. I try to share a positive message, as well as lessons learned which have helped me appreciate life. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple (positive) gesture. I write in the hope that I can make a difference and you as the reader will also see the possibilities that surround you, and as well that the little things do make a big difference. I’m originally from New Jersey, have traveled and lived on both the east and west coasts, and have happily been a Virginia resident for more than ten years. I have been married for over ten years; my wife is my anchor and has kept my compass correct. I have always been an individual who likes the outdoors. I like taking my time to think about the outcomes of situations. I enjoy philosophy and love science. I am no stranger to high adrenaline activities and love everything that revolves around water. Thank you for stopping by and feel free to comment, re-blog (with credit), or just read along! –Robert Konz. The Ordinary Compass: Original photographs and writings are the copyright and property of Robert Konz, and may not be used without permission.

Leave a Reply

