Community experience

BEACH 1-14-2016 PHONE 035TripFISH PHONE 3-14-16 047Trip2-12-2015 524TripTripFISH 3-28-16 PHONE 013Trip

There are important values that benefit communities; to me the park system is a major component of community development. Not only are the parks essential for providing activities for families, but they are a necessary buffer against construction and high-rises; some sort of opportunity to enjoy the outdoors is not only crucial for our ecosystem, but also for humanity.

Otters 3-22-16 PHONE 017TripIMG_1180TripTripFISH PHONE 3-14-16 096TripFISH 3-28-16 PHONE 057Trip

Some communities manage this combination fairly well; for example, Virginia Beach emphasizes this combination of nature and modernity; they are on point with providing their communities with parks that create a peaceful and a relaxed feeling, as well as an opportunity for many to enjoy nature on a regular basis. Virginia Beach has over 250 parks and facilities that offer something for everyone, and is home to more than 11,000 miles of shoreline and more than 100 rivers and streams. Folks, this is a water lover’s mecca. The amount of wildlife and marine life one encounters will just blow your mind. It can be mindboggling to witness such things up close and is a privilege for me personally. I cannot speak for anyone else, but I am very pleased to have these experiences. This does not include the Chesapeake Bay, which alone is a world of wonders to all who venture out on the water or just visit the shorelines.

BEACH 1-2-2016 PHONE 023Tripfa018-img_8793tripFISH -PHONE 4-10-16 287TripOtters 3-22-16 PHONE 047TripFISH -PHONE 4-10-16 553TripTURTLES 3-29-16 PHONE 197TripTURTLES 3-29-16 PHONE 167TripSHARKS 3-25-16 PHONE 398Trip

Each trip to a local park or while on the water is an opportunity to experience the beauty of nature. I wholeheartedly encourage anyone to visit the parks in Virginia Beach and if you have the time or the opportunity to go into the water or visit any of the landmarks and museums, I would hope you will not be disappointed. If you are into marine life, but do not have the opportunity to kayak or swim in the ocean or waterway, and want to experience firsthand what it is like to be up close and personal with otters, turtles, alligators, seals, and or komodo dragons, for example, I highly recommend visiting the Virginia Aquarium (and no, I am not being paid to endorse either the city or the museum).  Furthermore, who would not want to see mermaids swimming with stingrays and all types of colorful tropical fish?

IMG_1076TripTripFISH PHONE 3-11-16 022TripSHARKS 3-25-16 PHONE 249TripFISH 3-25-16 PHONE 263TripFISH 3-25-16 PHONE 063Trip

Thank you and see you at the next post.

Author: The Ordinary Compass

Hello and welcome to this collection of anecdotes from my years of ordinary moments and timeless memories. I try to share a positive message, as well as lessons learned which have helped me appreciate life. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple (positive) gesture. I write in the hope that I can make a difference and you as the reader will also see the possibilities that surround you, and as well that the little things do make a big difference. I’m originally from New Jersey, have traveled and lived on both the east and west coasts, and have happily been a Virginia resident for more than ten years. I have been married for over ten years; my wife is my anchor and has kept my compass correct. I have always been an individual who likes the outdoors. I like taking my time to think about the outcomes of situations. I enjoy philosophy and love science. I am no stranger to high adrenaline activities and love everything that revolves around water. Thank you for stopping by and feel free to comment, re-blog (with credit), or just read along! –Robert Konz. The Ordinary Compass: Original photographs and writings are the copyright and property of Robert Konz, and may not be used without permission.

Leave a Reply

