A Conversation between Lady Liberty and Lady Justice

“Break the cycle of hate!” Does it get anymore defined as that? This concept is one that resonates with me, and is a crucial part of my outlook on life.  Too many times, I have overheard individuals indicate that they are not racist, or they do not condone a certain behavior, or, my favorite, that individuals have a moral responsibility to teach their children respect of others, while in reality, the actions of these same individuals are the complete opposite. This is not a game.  Think about it:  Our youth are the world’s future, and yet, the cycle keeps on spinning like a wheel with no end in sight.

So, this makes me think of two icons which we may just take for granted; if both were provided with anthropomorphic qualities, I wonder what type of conversation would transpire….First, La Liberté éclairant le mond, better known as the Statue of Liberty, standing on an island in the middle of the water looking out watching everyone. She is the personification of specific virtues; after all, she holds a tablet evoking the law in one arm, “wears” broken chains at her feet, and holds a torch in the other arm to guide the way.  Second, Lustitia, better known as Lady Justice, stands tall throughout our nation and even in other countries representing the moral force in judicial systems or the divine rightness of law. She is blindfolded, and holding a sword in one hand, and a balancing scale in the other.

So what if both Lady Liberty and Lady Justice decided one day they needed to talk?  Lady Justice meets Lady Liberty on the island overlooking everyone. Lady Liberty puts down her torch, her law tablet, and pushes aside the chains from her feet. Lady Justice puts down her scales, stands her sword in the ground between both of them next to Lady Liberty’s chains, and proceeds to remove her blindfold. Lady Justice looks at Lady Liberty; then, both wise women turn to look out upon the nation.  After a pause, both look at each other, and inquire, “What are we doing here? What do we stand for? Why are we here? Why have our citizens forgotten a key principle of this nation, respect?”  After intense thought, neither could provide a specific answer, and both simply opt for continuity, with both returning to their previous positions.  If these two cannot reach a resolution, or provide a solution, what hope is there?   Any thoughts?

Author: The Ordinary Compass

Hello and welcome to this collection of anecdotes from my years of ordinary moments and timeless memories. I try to share a positive message, as well as lessons learned which have helped me appreciate life. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple (positive) gesture. I write in the hope that I can make a difference and you as the reader will also see the possibilities that surround you, and as well that the little things do make a big difference. I’m originally from New Jersey, have traveled and lived on both the east and west coasts, and have happily been a Virginia resident for more than ten years. I have been married for over ten years; my wife is my anchor and has kept my compass correct. I have always been an individual who likes the outdoors. I like taking my time to think about the outcomes of situations. I enjoy philosophy and love science. I am no stranger to high adrenaline activities and love everything that revolves around water. Thank you for stopping by and feel free to comment, re-blog (with credit), or just read along! –Robert Konz. The Ordinary Compass: Original photographs and writings are the copyright and property of Robert Konz, and may not be used without permission.

Leave a Reply

