Adventure Quest

4-25-2015 119Trip

Nature 14 331Trip

If you are able to experience cost-effective outdoor adventurous experiences throughout the year, what could they be? Many of us want to locate activities that wouldn’t cost a mortgage or rent, a week of your paycheck, or put you or your family’s safety on the line so to speak.   So for those who are like myself and think before wasting my hard earned money, particularly since my wife and I count every single dollar and love coupons, I enjoy looking for opportunities which provide the most value for the money.

So, what activity could result in fun, but also good value for the money?  You would be surprised with what you can do as a family with little or no money.  That’s the theme here folks, because let’s face it, we have priorities that come first when family is involved.  Safety is #1; Health is just as important; those two things alone will cost a pretty sum, but both are vital for daily life.

So, what can a family do on a shoestring budget? Although it would be nice to visit another country or take my wife on a tour of Rome, Ireland, or go to the Virgin Islands, that is just not finically feasible for us at this time. Hell, my wife and I have yet to even take a honeymoon in our ten plus years of marriage, so you know just where I stand.

I listen to individuals and / or companies talk about how you have to spend to earn and take a chance to make money.  While I understand that completely, one cannot spend what one does not have.  So, to return to the emphasis of this post – finding family activities which provide the best value for your money….Let’s talk about turning the ordinary adventure into an extraordinary time. Explore your wild side and making a day of learning about marine life and if taking a trip into the trees zipping across the canopy while laughing sounds like fun, try a zip line course.   One of my favorite places in Virginia Beach for a fun family activity is the Virginia Aquarium and Adventure Park.  There is nothing quite like being face to face with sharks, snakes, sea turtles, colorful tropical fish, stingrays, otters, seals, and komodo dragons at the Aquarium.

AQ

Once you leave the main building you can take a peaceful walk down the nature trail, where you will more than likely see ospreys, eagles, blue herons, kingfishers, and if you are lucky the baby foxes, raccoons, and, of course, we cannot forget the squirrels. The nature trail is full of wonders, but it doesn’t stop there; before you reach the second building to see more of what wonderful creatures Mother nature has to offer, you will hear laughter from fellow families and friends from up above pushing each other on in a positive manner as they zip across the terrain.  For those who enjoy a true challenge, there are also obstacles available for all ages.  For those traveling to southeastern Virginia, you will hear of a few tree top adventure courses in the local area, but by far, the professionalism of the staff, and especially the particular safety measures in place, are both unmatched by other zip line courses / adventure parks which I have visited.  The staff appear to mesh well, and the combination of Fun / Safety/ Respect/ Excitement is a significant combination for the community environment at the museum and / or park.

For those with packed schedules, the trees await visitors day or night. That’s right folks – at night. And, as an added bonus, you can watch fighter jets practice aerial maneuvers, or watch the Navy, Coast Guard, marine police, kayakers, boaters, jet skiers, and those fishing as well. Everything is all snuggled up together in one beautiful package. You don’t have to drive to the middle of nowhere to have a fabulous adventure on all fronts. The intellectual and physical challenge of the museum and / or course, as well as the memories that can be made, makes this a perfect “one-stop shop”.

VB

So, if you are looking for a cost-effective family outing, and an adventure which will provide lasting memories, then try zipping through the trees and wandering through Mother Nature at the Virginia Aquarium and Adventure Park.***

***Disclaimer:  While I am endorsing the Virginia Aquarium and Adventure Park, I am writing this of my own accord, and am not paid to endorse either the Aquarium or Adventure Park.

See you in the next post.

Author: The Ordinary Compass

Hello and welcome to this collection of anecdotes from my years of ordinary moments and timeless memories. I try to share a positive message, as well as lessons learned which have helped me appreciate life. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple (positive) gesture. I write in the hope that I can make a difference and you as the reader will also see the possibilities that surround you, and as well that the little things do make a big difference. I’m originally from New Jersey, have traveled and lived on both the east and west coasts, and have happily been a Virginia resident for more than ten years. I have been married for over ten years; my wife is my anchor and has kept my compass correct. I have always been an individual who likes the outdoors. I like taking my time to think about the outcomes of situations. I enjoy philosophy and love science. I am no stranger to high adrenaline activities and love everything that revolves around water. Thank you for stopping by and feel free to comment, re-blog (with credit), or just read along! –Robert Konz. The Ordinary Compass: Original photographs and writings are the copyright and property of Robert Konz, and may not be used without permission.

Leave a Reply

