The Sapling

So, to return to one of my favorite topics, my love for nature, beloved parks, and businesses promoting healthy returns back to the environment, I read an article the other day that inspire me, and made me wish that something similar would occur in the United States.

Source:  http://news.nationalgeographic.com/2016/07/india-plants-50-million-trees-uttar-pradesh-reforestation/

In India recently, nearly one million people planted nearly 50 million saplings over a 24-hour period in Uttar Pradesh.  I found this fascinating; imagine the level of coordination involved in planning this event, but more importantly, the impact this will have on the environment in the long run.   This gives a new whole meaning to giving back.  In terms of the environment, what if, for each tree cut down here in the States, four new saplings could be planted in its place? Simple enough, right? One mature healthy tree cut down and four saplings planted, in the hopes that at least one would survive to maturity.

The human capacity for sharing and giving back is amazing.  The fact that nearly one million individuals collaborated for a common goal without violence is even more illustrative of the potential for humanity to accomplish good; it is a reminder that there is still hope for the human race.

I only wish this story would be the type that would saturate our airwaves and news programs.  My wife shared an excerpt from a book she uses in one of her courses, Understanding Global Cultures (2016), by Martin J. Gannon and Rajnandini Pillai, in which the authors note in reference to American media, “The positive features of foreign countries are rarely highlighted.  Because average U.S. Americans are continuously bombarded with news of famine, wars, violence, and political turmoil from the outside world, they are frequently not aware of the pleasant and fascinating features of other nations” (p. 222).  How true. If only this particular event in Uttar Pradesh, and others around the world, would acquire significant news coverage in the States; perhaps this type of event would inspire others to collaborate in a positive manner.  With these types of positive stories, I would like to think there is hope for the future.

 

Gannon, M. and Pillai, R.  (2016).  Understanding Global Cultures:  Metaphorical Journeys through 34 Nations, Clusters of Nations, Continents, and Diversity.  CA:  Sage Publications.

Author: The Ordinary Compass

Hello and welcome to this collection of anecdotes from my years of ordinary moments and timeless memories. I try to share a positive message, as well as lessons learned which have helped me appreciate life. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple (positive) gesture. I write in the hope that I can make a difference and you as the reader will also see the possibilities that surround you, and as well that the little things do make a big difference. I’m originally from New Jersey, have traveled and lived on both the east and west coasts, and have happily been a Virginia resident for more than ten years. I have been married for over ten years; my wife is my anchor and has kept my compass correct. I have always been an individual who likes the outdoors. I like taking my time to think about the outcomes of situations. I enjoy philosophy and love science. I am no stranger to high adrenaline activities and love everything that revolves around water. Thank you for stopping by and feel free to comment, re-blog (with credit), or just read along! –Robert Konz. The Ordinary Compass: Original photographs and writings are the copyright and property of Robert Konz, and may not be used without permission.

Leave a Reply

