Mirrors Reflections:

It’s easy to look at someone else and compare your life with theirs, but that’s not your life, so why do we do this? Why do we compare ourselves with others?  I look around and see thousands of faces. I look into their eyes and I see anger, passion, ambition, admiration, fear, concern, confusion, love, curiosity, among others, as if a mirror is reflecting everything I myself have endured and experienced, and continue to pull back the curtain of life’s everlasting questions of what are we on this planet to do.

Do we speak of these things or do we just brush these realities under the carpet, so no one can see our true nature? Should I use fancy or brusque words to cause a ripple in the pond that may or may not rock the boat?  I am human as are we all. I know of pain, love, etc. – just as you. So why do people continue to hide from themselves?

Why do we hide from the reflection in the mirror?

What makes one human being better than another?

If you take away everything and stand as equals, what is left?

So, I sit here and I type and knowing all too well many individuals DO NOT GIVE A FUCK! Oops, taboo broken. Ripple in the pond rocking the boat. Have you ever considered the fact that a boat is meant to be rocked?  I curse a lot, so what! Oh My God! I have a mouth and an attitude problem.

I can use whatever words I choose, from the sophisticated to the repulsive.  Here is what I have learned over the years, although sometimes I wonder.  You can curb your language, so you don’t come across as a complete asshole, but the truth is I am (or at least can be) an asshole.  What did I just say? You don’t live 20, 30, 40+ years without learning the true nature of human beings and their capabilities. Don’t lie to yourself if you think someone will always be nice to you. That is not reality.

This is reality:

If you let someone continue to hurt you, they will.

If you let someone continue to manipulate you, they will.

Now, why did I say I was an asshole (or at least can be)?

I try to stand up for myself (AS YOU ALL SHOULD)  and sometimes the ones I stand up to have the power to manipulate those around them, or maybe someone will try intimidation tactics, or speak ill of me, or maybe someone is trying or just tried to pick a fight with me for some convoluted reason, but the fact remains that when I do stand up for myself, people take that as a sign of disrespect, which to me is ass backwards.  If someone is trying to tarnish your name/reputation, what do you do? If someone is trying to break your spirit, what do you do? If someone is trying to force you out of place of employment, business, or anywhere you want to enjoy your time or earn money, what do you do? What do you do when you will not submit to other’s perspectives?  You stand up for yourself.  So, if that makes me an asshole in your eyes, because I speak my mind, then I guess I’m an asshole.  I’m not here to placate others.  That crap was grade school antics, which by the way are alive and well in some of the adult behavior I witness. I want to see people succeed and not be pushed down. Don’t get me wrong, I act like a child myself, because I am the parent of an infant and often make funny faces and speak “baby talk” in my child’s presence.

The bottom line:  If you try to break a person who has already been broken you will lose every time!

Be yourself.

Fight for your passions.

Stand up for your ideologies.

See you in the next post.

Author: The Ordinary Compass

Hello and welcome to this collection of anecdotes from my years of ordinary moments and timeless memories. I try to share a positive message, as well as lessons learned which have helped me appreciate life. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple (positive) gesture. I write in the hope that I can make a difference and you as the reader will also see the possibilities that surround you, and as well that the little things do make a big difference. I’m originally from New Jersey, have traveled and lived on both the east and west coasts, and have happily been a Virginia resident for more than ten years. I have been married for over ten years; my wife is my anchor and has kept my compass correct. I have always been an individual who likes the outdoors. I like taking my time to think about the outcomes of situations. I enjoy philosophy and love science. I am no stranger to high adrenaline activities and love everything that revolves around water. Thank you for stopping by and feel free to comment, re-blog (with credit), or just read along! –Robert Konz. The Ordinary Compass: Original photographs and writings are the copyright and property of Robert Konz, and may not be used without permission.

Leave a Reply

