Google Vortex

I sit here staring at dual computer screens. One screen has Google staring at me and the other is no other than the screen reflecting the words I am typing. My son sleeps soundly behind me in his little Fisher Price Rock & Play. Before we get into the post at hand, let that last phrase roll off your tongue a few times. Rock and play. Rock and play. I look at my son, now nearly 4 months old, and he is sound asleep. I am typing away and he is just out cold in infant land dreaming away of something happy I hope.  The Rock and Play is a phenomenal concept, because to me it is an adult sized hammock with frames. I want to wake up my son and tell him he needs to go to his crib, so I can lie back and relax in this thing.

Ok. Let’s turn our attention to the Google screen. It’s just staring at me and frankly sometimes I get tired of just wanting to research information, because there are so many topics from which to choose.  Information at our finger tips….Where do I start?  Information at the touch of your fingertips is an awe-inspiring concept; gone are the days of library card catalogs. At least for this particular post, because unbelievable materials can be found at the tips of those cards and who doesn’t enjoy the good old (DDC) So, Google:  I can take a chance and double click “I’m feeling lucky,” if I choose.  In fact let’s do that and see where it leads us.  What appears is as follows (and this pasted directly from the Google search):

“January 11, 2012

Nicolas Steno’s 374th Birthday

Known as the father of stratigraphy and geology, Nicholas Steno worked to understand history by what he could find in the ground. Rather than simply write books about his findings, Steno opted to do his own hands-on research. As an innovative thinker, he disagreed with his contemporaries in thinking that shark-tooth-shaped objects found imbedded in rocks “fell from the sky.” Instead, Steno argued that these formations were fossils. His dedication to analysis, critical thinking, and creative thinking make him a great subject for a Google doodle!

Considering Steno’s contributions to stratigraphy and geology, I wanted to honor his birthday with a unique take on his work. I knew that the colorful and geeky aesthetic of stratigraphy was the right direction for the doodle, but the team and I weren’t sure how to apply it. Should we set the doodle in the middle of the country? Should we relate it to Google culture? Should I just make things up? Below are the exploration sketches. “

—–End of Google search direct quote—-

Now, that was a gem of a find.  That nugget left me curious, so I chose to research further on Nicolas Steno. I wanted to see what information I could find in three minutes; yet, 49 minutes pass, and I am still reading about this fascinating man.  I would have continued my research; however, my son woke up screaming.  The term “bloody hell” is an overture for my son cried so loud that the blood ran out of hell; Hell’s CEO was like, “God, what happened?  Why have you forsaken me?” After feeding my son, he started to fall back to sleep, leading me to return to do some additional research.  That’s reality; my son is now falling back to sleep in my wife’s arms.  So, I decide to browse Stanford’s research archives, leading me right back to where I started, another recap of a past blog post. The BRAIN. This reminds me of what I read regarding Steno, and his 1669 point, “The brain, the masterpiece of creation, is almost unknown to us.”  Today, 347 years later in 2016, the brain is still a mystery, in many ways. That is beyond fascinating because that means there are endless possibilities for future breakthroughs.

So, to return to our focus on Google, I am thankful for our tech advancements, as this provided the muse and the means to locate a topic.  While I am on the topic of technological advances, how many of my fellow readers know what Nanites are? Now this is a topic about which I could write multiple posts. Nanorobotics, Nanomachines, and Nanomites, oh my. Nanotechnology is a fascinating topic, one in which that which you imagine can become a reality.

So, until the next post I will keep researching topics or just free write as I normally do, as this helps me to feel good about myself. Let’s face it folks, if we do not enjoy what we are doing or do what makes us happy, then what is the purpose of humanity? We have 80 to 85 years to live and humanity would be resplendently boring if there were no excitement.

See you in the next post.

Author: The Ordinary Compass

Hello and welcome to this collection of anecdotes from my years of ordinary moments and timeless memories. I try to share a positive message, as well as lessons learned which have helped me appreciate life. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple (positive) gesture. I write in the hope that I can make a difference and you as the reader will also see the possibilities that surround you, and as well that the little things do make a big difference. I’m originally from New Jersey, have traveled and lived on both the east and west coasts, and have happily been a Virginia resident for more than ten years. I have been married for over ten years; my wife is my anchor and has kept my compass correct. I have always been an individual who likes the outdoors. I like taking my time to think about the outcomes of situations. I enjoy philosophy and love science. I am no stranger to high adrenaline activities and love everything that revolves around water. Thank you for stopping by and feel free to comment, re-blog (with credit), or just read along! –Robert Konz. The Ordinary Compass: Original photographs and writings are the copyright and property of Robert Konz, and may not be used without permission.

Leave a Reply

