The pondering question:

new-jersey-december-2016-061tripnew-jersey-december-2016-285tripWhat keeps me going? What does someone say to another individual or a large audience if you are ever in a position to be sitting or standing on a stage in front of hundreds of people? What about a classroom? Maybe it’s a complete stranger.  What keeps anybody going in life?  Bottom line.  I only have one question for you to ponder down the road, when you are going through something or maybe when you have reached a point in life where you have no idea or clue what to do, when you have nowhere to run or hide, and you are forced to face this one question. Do you want to live or die?

This is a direct and clear cut question we should all ask ourselves. The normal reflex would be to say “Yes, I want to live,” partly due to the stigma of saying “no”.  In other words, would an individual automatically be labelled as someone in need of help?  What do we do? Is that person depressed? Suicidal?  Dangerous? Perhaps that person is having a bad day.  We automatically reach a hypothesis before learning the truth.

At one point or another in your life you are going to be where no one can relate to you or vice versa and that feeling of alienation will overwhelm anyone. It doesn’t matter where you are or who surrounds you, this will happen regardless of demographics.  That’s the true refection in the mirror…There comes a pivotal point in which you must decide whether you will fight, push on, face it all, or step back into the cave where the reflecting shadows can continue portraying what you want to see or feel, so you don’t confront your demons?  I think of Plato’s Allegory here – i.e., the point where you must have the courage to face yourself.  I’m not here to preach to you, but I do know one day your life will come to a complete halt.  You will look at everything and everyone in your life and wonder what the hell am I seeing, as if for the first time? Why have I not seen this before? Why have I not realized this before? And SWOOSH, that moment is gone just like that. Though that moment has come and gone the question is what will you do next with that humbling insight? The wrist watch arms are spinning and the question still remains for you to answer.

Do you want to live or die? Personally, I want to live. That is what keeps me going. LIFE!  I want to be happy. See my wife and son smile and learn from one another. I want to see friends and loved ones enjoying life.new-jersey-december-2016-434tripI want to be free. I want see our youth stay the hell out of JAIL! I want to see our youth engaged in positive activities without the fear of harassment. (Note to readers:  This will be the intro into a separate post on this topic “Youth and jail”.) Would you not rather see young adults fishing, kayaking, surfing, jet skiing, and other recreational activities rather than killing or fighting you, your neighbors, friends, teachers, authority figures, and most importantly each other over ridiculous nonsense, because they tried abiding by certain expectations only to have them thrown in their faces. Let’s consider the following hypothetical scenario.  A young adult is legally fishing somewhere, and another individual had a problem with this person fishing in that location, and as a result, decided to be a bully, perhaps because he or she would like to be doing what the young adult was doing.  However, this individual opted to be the instigator instead of the influencer.  (Notice the emphasis on choice!  Bullying is a conscious action on the part of the bully.)  We want the youth to abide the rules, but when it is do as we say, but not as we do, then we have a conflict of interest do we not?

I wonder if this same individual ever stopped to realize by that simple action of confrontation instead of positive reinforcement caused a ripple effect to the point that the young adult said to himself or herself, I am not hurting anyone. I am alone fishing and minding my own business and I get harassed for fishing. I get bullied for following the rules. I get in trouble for doing the right thing instead of doing harmful activities. Why bother? I give up.  I guess killing and fighting each other is better for society and my future, so I guess I will just do that instead of fishing.  See where I am going here, folks?  If an individual acts constructively, instead of putting themselves in a less-than-positive role, one which might lead to the corrections system, that is a no brainer. (This will be in another post.)

So, what keeps me going? I want to live. I want to make a difference even if it is just as simple as writing, taking pictures, or blabbing away on my blog.

Here is another question for you. What do you have to lose by trying to better yourself?

Well, to me that moment comes with a price.

That price is your ego. That price is your humility. That price is your pain. That price is your time.

That price is getting your heart handed to you wrapped in a pretty bow over and over and over and over.

That price is facing those demons that keep you from facing that mirror.

That price is your family. That price is your life.

How badly do you want to go forward in life?

I can sit here and break down every single price tag I just put on every one of those stated.

Crying because you are angry or upset, yelling at the wall or the sky, screaming at the top of your lungs to release something, beating the hell out of a kick bag, running, jogging, swimming, and the countless other positive activities that empower one to strive for a better tomorrow are all normal. Every one of these causes a reaction to that could benefit one’s life in a positive manner.

That’s a part of life. Get over it. Deal with it. Reflect upon that image in the mirror. Try looking at yourself beyond the reflection in the mirror.

So, when someone asks me what keeps me going, what would you like to hear? The truth or some bullshit story to appease you at that moment? Fight. Push. Strive. Inspire. Encourage. Talk. Put words into action.

Don’t try to push shit that you yourself are not representing. So, what keeps me going? I want to live to continue learning.

See you in the next post.

new-jersey-december-2016-703trip

new-jersey-december-2016-768trip

Author: The Ordinary Compass

Hello and welcome to this collection of anecdotes from my years of ordinary moments and timeless memories. I try to share a positive message, as well as lessons learned which have helped me appreciate life. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple (positive) gesture. I write in the hope that I can make a difference and you as the reader will also see the possibilities that surround you, and as well that the little things do make a big difference. I’m originally from New Jersey, have traveled and lived on both the east and west coasts, and have happily been a Virginia resident for more than ten years. I have been married for over ten years; my wife is my anchor and has kept my compass correct. I have always been an individual who likes the outdoors. I like taking my time to think about the outcomes of situations. I enjoy philosophy and love science. I am no stranger to high adrenaline activities and love everything that revolves around water. Thank you for stopping by and feel free to comment, re-blog (with credit), or just read along! –Robert Konz. The Ordinary Compass: Original photographs and writings are the copyright and property of Robert Konz, and may not be used without permission.

Leave a Reply

