To Think or Not to Think

20161221_160829-animationHello readers, I sit here looking at my screen deciding on the topic for today’s post. I recently returned from a great kayaking workout on December 31, 2016 and my creative juices are flowing. It’s a tradition I stick to every year regardless of weather. One thing I will continue to state is if you are going to venture out onto the water during winter months, be safe, be prepared, and be smart.  Just the other day another kayaker lost his life and this type of loss is always disheartening to hear. My sympathies go to the family of this man.  20161214_082557020161214_08280220161214_111941So, what do I write about? Money, social media, my son and his priceless expressions I get to enjoy watching, my thoughts on socially controversial topics, my future book in the editing phase, boats, planes, trains, automobiles, etc.?  Scientific innovations?  The 7 wonders of the world?  Entrepreneurship? I would like to talk about anything that may motivate someone to do something that he or she enjoys. I can sit here, yell and scream, but let’s face it.  Although I do not mind being assertive, because some need that tough love shit to get motivated, I would prefer to keep this post positive, a tint of humor, with a dash of entertainment. I guess my near death experiences could be a topic of interest? (There have been multiple experiences, and it is scary thinking about it.)  For example, think about a soft cover jeep rocketing into the exosphere only to come back down to the troposphere, with the tail slapping a tree, igniting on fire like spaceX’s Falcon 9 rocket and landing into a creek at the bottom of a cliff. That one was a mouthful. I walked away from that experience with a different perspective. We can talk about water accidents, too – i.e., hypothermia, heat exhaustion, crashes, deaths, blacking out, and my, oh my, the list goes on.  So, where does one begin to write when there are so many topics from which to choose? Just what do writers decide to write about when there are so many potential options?    What drives the writer?20161214_15192820161214_152038A thought came to mind and one of which I am confident a few readers may have experienced.  How many of you may have had at least one person tell you one of the following:  Don’t think too much; You’re overthinking it; You are thinking too much; or my favorite, Your brain must be on fire.    What the osmosis is that?   I would like to hear from the readers and their thoughts on why people might say such things. Please add them to comment box below.

I am just free writing and trying to show my sense of humor. It’s a new year and new possibilities.

I would like to think that there are plenty of individuals on this planet that think about everything or whatever factor that piques their interest, and especially if it benefits not just oneself, but others as well?  Consider the term “think tank”.  People get paid for thinking and who wouldn’t want to be paid for thinking on multiple levels? Now, the likelihood that each of these individuals has a degree (or multiple degrees) is high, but what about those without a degree who are paid for using a skill that think tanks love? If someone has a talent, or capability to brainstorm with certain given subject matters for which companies or entities pay, should these individuals be allowed to use their gift even without paper credentials?  What do you think?   I’m curious to hear your thoughts.20161214_16130020161216_120024Here is another question. Do our memories become opportunities for reflection during certain times? Do we as humans continuously think about some topic regardless of anything we might try to do not to think? I kayak to do just that and sometimes kayak for longer durations than other kayaking workouts, but I know I am still thinking, using my brain, my frontal lobe working together with the motor and sensory cortexes, shaking hands with the broca’s area so I can write this post with some humor. I want to think. I enjoy thinking. I want to use my brain. I want to learn. I want to continue growing and utilizing that muscle. I would like to think that others would as well. We are all students in this life; in my opinion we all continue learning daily.20161219_17061520161231_083241I guess I found something to write about after all, because I just keep on typing. The brain. I love it. Just the term, “brain,” is intriguing.  What an unbelievable organ we each possess and yet so many people take for granted how vulnerable we really are when it comes to our brains.  The following example made me scratch my head, however.  One day, while hanging out with a few individuals, the subject of due process in the court of law, particularly, the topic of torture, whether sanctioned or not, became the topic of conversation, particularly where we each stood on this subject.  The person who initiated this subject matter opened a can of worms with this topic, because no one wanted to talk about it and when he asked what my position on this matter was he almost started a fist fight with me when he heard my response, simply because my response was not what he wanted to hear.  He immediately became confrontational.  How ironic considering the question he posed!  The good vibes in the area completely vanished as he, the originator of the question, became agitated from the logical responses I provided – prior to being interrupted by his temper. Have you ever watched a minnow swimming in a small cup? The minnow is in a small cup bouncing and flopping around.  Interestingly enough, we barely spoke after that day – purely over a difference in perspective for a question he posed to the group.  The others in the group were reticent on the topic, but I firmly believe in speaking my mind, particularly if someone opens the door on a topic which interests me.new-jersey-december-2016-530tripWe should cherish our freedom of speech, my readers.  If you ask a question, particularly one that is on a complex and highly-emotional topic, you better be prepared for an answer. Did I think too deeply on this post? About what shall I write next? After today we have another 363 days of learning to go for this year.

See you in the next post.

May your 2017 be a good year.new-jersey-december-2016-508tripnew-jersey-december-2016-264trip

Inspire

Encourage

Talk

Show

Participate

Author: The Ordinary Compass

Hello and welcome to this collection of anecdotes from my years of ordinary moments and timeless memories. I try to share a positive message, as well as lessons learned which have helped me appreciate life. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple (positive) gesture. I write in the hope that I can make a difference and you as the reader will also see the possibilities that surround you, and as well that the little things do make a big difference. I’m originally from New Jersey, have traveled and lived on both the east and west coasts, and have happily been a Virginia resident for more than ten years. I have been married for over ten years; my wife is my anchor and has kept my compass correct. I have always been an individual who likes the outdoors. I like taking my time to think about the outcomes of situations. I enjoy philosophy and love science. I am no stranger to high adrenaline activities and love everything that revolves around water. Thank you for stopping by and feel free to comment, re-blog (with credit), or just read along! –Robert Konz. The Ordinary Compass: Original photographs and writings are the copyright and property of Robert Konz, and may not be used without permission.

4 thoughts on “To Think or Not to Think”

  1. Hey. I really liked… What the osmosis is that! Very nice. As for the topic of torcher, whew its a very very interesting topic. On one hand, What Free democratic nation would condone that…. on the other hand, it can be said that you have to fight fire with fire.(Lets not forget America is the only nation do drop nuclear weapons on civilians).What would have happened if China dropped one on New York? If you look past all of that for a moment I like to think what chain of events brought us to this stage. Its not like the Middle East woke up one morning and said: lets sacrifice our lives in horrific ways for fun. There must be a back story to this. It begs the question, why are Americans so hated? Most worrying of all is the fact that what happens to the people of a peaceful nation i.e. America when they embroil themselves in such horrific fighting. The long term psychological effects of conflict on a population are well documented. Even in Rome the solders were kept out of main stream public. They were kept far away fighting on foreign soil.( Most enlisted for life) Well as much as possible anyway. Now days with technology and media we are on the front lines. Even a innocent child will be effected eventually when he or she has witnessed enough violence. Chances are that child will display violent behavior later in life. Are we not then breeding a systematic violent polarized world. How can you be hated because you are American….. Or Muslim…Black or White. I know that I was hated because I am a White South African. I had no choice in that, I was born that way on this soil. My sister who was a nurse ( In Uniform) helping injured rioters was stoned because she is White. Its all a bit silly actually. If we look at history and use that as a sliding rule it is inevitable that America will be involved in the next WW. The sad thing is, What has all that fighting done to its people in terms of Joe Public. How many people live in fear because of so called freedom? Why does a Free Democratic Nation Have so much fire power?( A military 7 times bigger than the rest of the world combined) I know that if some American politician decided that we all drive on the wrong side of the road we would have to change that NOW in fear of military action. At what stage does the good guy become the bully? We all have to check ourselves from time to time to evaluate if the means justify the ends, Or are there other more sinister motivations.( Oil, Gold, Absolute Power). A great example of this is. Why did we have the cold war? What was it that made Russia prepare for global war, Russia was affiliated with the allies in WW2. What deal was not honored? Well that’s just my humble opinion, rite or wrong, I am just very privileged and happy that I can express my passing thoughts and share them with you. I have drifted of topic as I so often do but it stands to point that there is so much to learn and think about. I must admit I do a lot of it when paddling. Great read. Dan

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Dan – Thank you for your response; when I finished reading your response, my first thought was that you have opened the door for future blog posts. We can write back and forth on this material for days on end. I also wanted to say how disheartening it was to read about your sister. Mob mentality is alive and well, as is hatred.

      When you addressed the impact on children, I plan to cover this in an upcoming post. I recently wrote a post (which I have to edit prior to posting), but I agree that, as adults, we have an obligation to try to cultivate potentially destructive behavior into something constructive. Unfortunately, “society” cannot seem to determine the best approach for this, and so the cycle continues. We often hear or read about the “innocence” of children, but in our world today, I wonder how long that innocence can truly last? Even parents who choose to regulate the amount of media consumption or exposure to violence their children receive experience challenges when their children are around others who are exposed to many examples of violence in the media, at home, etc.

      Your question regarding what makes a bully really resonated with me, and I found your inclusion of Rome to be “spot on”. Rome produced some of the world’s early advances in engineering, science, warfare, the humanities, etc., (as did Greece, too), but it seems leaders were always striving for power in excess (and continually invading and acquiring additional territory), resulting in what we now consider tourist attractions (i.e., the Coliseum and so forth. History is full of examples of aggressors, and as my wife is an historian, this is often a topic of conversation in our home. Is the aggression worse – including by the average citizen – in the age of the internet, social media, etc. where elements such as snuff films or videos of bullying, etc. – not to mention the countless examples from millennia of history – are available at the fingertips?

      I appreciate the excellent food for thought, Dan; thank you for engaging, and I look forward to future discussions.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hey, Thank you for taking the time to read my comment and I enjoyed your thoughtful reply. I love that we can discuss topics like this over oceans and the fact that we can touch on sensitive issues with no offence taken. Looking forward to reading more from your blog. Cheers Dan

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

