Attitude

new-jersey-december-2016-219triptripHello everyone, and welcome to another post.  Before zipping along, I wanted to share an observation which I recently discovered from John C. Maxwell, “People may hear your words, but they feel your attitude”.  Very true.  Attitude can often be the difference between life and death; think about those who climb or have climbed Mount Everest.  Attitude may very well be the difference between life and death.  Or, what about working on home repairs, such as repairing a roof, or even climbing a tree – whether as part of one’s job or just for fun; attitude can make all the difference.  A negative attitude can make that “honey do list” never-ending, or climbing that tree could suddenly become hazardous without the right attitude.  If you are surrounded by negative influences, then the ordinary becomes bitter.  One of my favorite mantras now is about cutting lose the chain of negativity (from the anchor), and letting that anchor sink to the bottom of the ocean.

To continue these points regarding attitude, an old favorite from Zig Ziglar is, “Your attitude, not your aptitude, will determine your altitude”.  Also true.  If one is surrounded by negativity, however, this may be difficult to fulfill.  It is important to separate yourself from negativity, whether it is individuals or a company, before you lose yourself to entrenched negative thinking or worse, a negative environment in which you cannot grow. I call this the one stop shop of death to your individuality or potential future possibilities for growth.

15965960_10211809674897763_2715644845445657381_n15977493_10211809673097718_4611004595877573695_nIt seems unrealistic to encourage everyone to try to have a positive attitude and inspire and foster others to live life with some gusto, adventure, or even with their own originality, but is it?  Is it unrealistic to try to encourage others to refrain from negative thinking? Social media platforms come to mind.  How many times has a post or action on social media infuriated or upset you?  Let’s take Instagram for example; sometimes scrolling through individual feeds can spark (positive) ideas and conversations, and result in excellent contacts, but on other occasions, it and other social media platforms seem to do nothing but bring down one’s mood.  Not every social media account is positive – or even realistic, but some are worth reviewing, particularly if we take a minute to ponder the message or intent of the account (particularly business-related or entrepreneurial feeds).  If we have an open mind instead of a closed one, what opportunities do you think could result?

This brings me to the concept of the phrase, “one-man army”; in many ways, while this has been used in a negative manner, I consider it an immense compliment. I am one person just doing my own thing trying to be happy, and if working 10x harder than the person next to me is negative (i.e., comments such as “you’re working too hard”), then I suppose that is a matter of opinion.   I always wonder why individuals opt to jab, rather than encouraging others to persevere.  Is it just easier to be negative?  I’m human so, yes, sometimes, when I let down my guard, comments such as these bother me, and are just another irritant like getting tazed or OC’ed.  However, once I refocus, I can “embrace” the constructive criticism.  Here is just a thought to consider next time anyone is on the verge of picking on someone with malevolent (or even ill-humored) intent. We are all created equal, but we do not all share the same equal mindset of what real work entails.

When it comes to labor, I have put in my fair share of time, and I truly do understand intense manual labor. I cannot say this for everyone, nor would I even speak for another in this regard.  However, throughout my life, I have encountered a lot of Individuals who do not comprehend real pain or work. They can say it all they want, but until they actually feel it, then those words are hollow and mean nothing more than self-aggrandizement. I’m getting older, so I do feel it more, but I still know my limitations and capabilities. So, please, I want to hear you tell me “one-man army” or “you don’t get it”; all these comments do is motivate me. As I have said before, I am only one man trying my best. I don’t have a team to help me to do the little jobs, so if this “one man army” is upsetting your company’s status quo, and you have a TEAM of people, some of whom were hired to create original content, and yet, your team members continue to utilize the work of other individuals and claim it as their own, then I would encourage such companies to reevaluate the hiring process, and seek individuals who believe in original thought.

It’s all about mindset and how you look at the LONG RUN. I’m not saying owners of any company will not make mistakes in terms of placing trust in employees to be honest, particularly in terms of pesky components such as plagiarism, but know when the air is ripe at least.  I’m not here for peanuts and popcorn to watch a movie. I am the one creating the movie.  So, from the “one-man army” and until the next post, enjoy the start of the year and as always thank you for reading. My wife is laughing at me for this one, but that is just fine with me, because she is my team.

15895372_10211809678937864_2957783960070544201_n

See you in the next post.

 

Author: The Ordinary Compass

Hello and welcome to this collection of anecdotes from my years of ordinary moments and timeless memories. I try to share a positive message, as well as lessons learned which have helped me appreciate life. Sometimes, all it takes is a simple (positive) gesture. I write in the hope that I can make a difference and you as the reader will also see the possibilities that surround you, and as well that the little things do make a big difference. I’m originally from New Jersey, have traveled and lived on both the east and west coasts, and have happily been a Virginia resident for more than ten years. I have been married for over ten years; my wife is my anchor and has kept my compass correct. I have always been an individual who likes the outdoors. I like taking my time to think about the outcomes of situations. I enjoy philosophy and love science. I am no stranger to high adrenaline activities and love everything that revolves around water. Thank you for stopping by and feel free to comment, re-blog (with credit), or just read along! –Robert Konz. The Ordinary Compass: Original photographs and writings are the copyright and property of Robert Konz, and may not be used without permission.

2 thoughts on “Attitude”

  1. Hmmm. So many points to add. Tough to choose the one to comment on actually.. I will mention one small thing that gets to me at times. How more and more I am seeing people that find everything to difficult, especially with regards to manual labor. Fiona often laughs at me when I tell her my friend hired various people to do some work on his house. The problem comes in when I go to visit. I eventually get so irritated with all the excuses and reasons why things cant be done, I see the job getting sloppy …… I land up getting involved. Eventually there are four or five guys watching me dig an impossible hole or moving an “immovable” rock. You are so correct in that’s its attitude. My friend act asked me the other day. How can he move 17 tons of sand and rock from under his house without a digger etc.( No access for machines). I replied without hesitation. One spade at a time. Impossible ..he said… My favourite word. I proved him wrong. I really enjoyed the exercise as well as the satisfaction of a great result. Funny thing is that it did not even take that long. Nothing wrong with a bit of hard work from time to time. Feel free to stand there, ridicule me and that its to much work… While I just do it.
    Keep the positive attitude and your paddle wet. Dan

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “I eventually get so irritated with all the excuses and reasons why things cant be done, I see the job getting sloppy …… I land up getting involved. Eventually there are four or five guys watching me dig an impossible hole or moving an “immovable” rock. You are so correct in that’s its attitude. My friend act asked me the other day. How can he move 17 tons of sand and rock from under his house without a digger etc.( No access for machines). I replied without hesitation. One spade at a time.” I love it……. You are spot on Dan…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

